Tags

Hi Everyone!

Today I thought I’d do something a little different, a tag post. Jacquelyn Lovene created a tag that is all about cruelty free makeup/beauty products (video). She did this a while back and I loved listening to her answers to the questions.

So today I’m going to answer the questions posed in the original video!

I hope you enjoy & let’s get started!

Little warning: I ramble a bit in this post, I got carried away! I did edit it down but it’s still pretty long.

1.) What was your first impression of cruelty free makeup?

My first impression of CF makeup was that I was going to have one heck of a time finding CF brands to buy from – especially ones that I could afford. The first time I looked into going CF was about a year ago and at the time I was buying mainly drug store makeup with a few high end things thrown in here and there. I thought finding brands that didn’t test was going to be difficult but it only took five minutes of googling to find entire websites and lists dedicated to CF beauty products. I found that there were easily accessible drug store (as well as high-end) CF brands.

Sadly, I also discovered that a lot of the brands I assumed were CF (like Estee Lauder or Chanel, Bobbi Brown, etc.) weren’t. 

2.) What is your opinion on parent companies?

Well… I don’t love the fact that non CF parent companies are slowly buying up CF brands, or the fact that said brands are allowing themselves to be bought. However, I think that as long as the brand you are purchasing from doesn’t test, I am ok with them being owned by a parent company. My thought process is that, yes, in a sense I am giving a non CF company my money, but it can clearly be traced back to a purchase from a CF brand. My hope is that eventually – if enough people buy only from CF companies – that the parent companies will get the message and start to make the switch. 

3.) What was the turning point in you going cruelty free?

Honestly, I don’t really know what made me make the change for good. It was a few weeks ago and I just remember getting ready and looking at the makeup in front of me. The majority of it was CF and the few things that weren’t – my MAC Pro Longwear concealer comes to mind – got me thinking:

I liked the concealer, but did I like it better than the ones I could buy from NYX, Tarte, Urban Decay, *insert CF brand here*? No, not really and was the L’Oreal foundation really better than the IT Cosmetics CC Cream I normally used? No.

So why was I choosing to buy the non CF versions when the CF ones are equivalent if not better than the alternative?

That was it, I decided then and there that I was done buying from the non CF brands, I didn’t have a need too, the makeup products aren’t any better, so why cause harm to the little bunnies and other animals? 

4.) What would you say to someone considering going cruelty free?

I’d say to look into. You don’t have to look up videos on it – I didn’t, my imagination did a good enough job… (even though it’s probably not even close to what really happens ) – you can watch CF youtubers, google it, talk to others about it, whatever. If it seems like something you want to do, then do it.

I would never force anyone into becoming CF with beauty products, but I highly encourage people to educate themselves on the subject in whatever way they feel comfortable. It doesn’t matter how you go about it, what does matter is being aware of what you are purchasing/supporting and whether or not it is something you are ok with. 

5.) What are your best cruelty free dupes?

I don’t have a lot of these because the majority of my collection is CF, but I do have a one…

The Tarte Shape Tape ($24 – Ulta) is a great dupe for the MAC Pro Longwear Concealer ($22- Nordstrom). You get almost the same amount of product, the major difference is that the MAC one has a pump while the Tarte has a doe foot applicator. The consistency is a little different, the shape tape is a little thicker than the MAC, but it applies the same and offers the same amount of coverage. 

6.) What items have you not found a cruelty free dupe for yet?

The Benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil in #4 Medium ($24 – Ulta, Sephora). I know that Anastasia Beverly Hills has a similar product so I’ll be looking into that. Also the Gimme Brow by Benefit ($24 – Ulta, Sephora)… looove that stuff. 

7.) What is your favorite cruelty free brand? Drugstore & High-end?

For drugstore, Wet ‘n Wild. I don’t buy a lot from drugstores anymore but I have found a few things from Wet ‘n Wild that I really liked… I don’t recall the names but there was an eye liner I loved and a mascara that I went through several tubes of! 

For high-end, well…. I don’t really have one. I use a bunch of different brands, but I don’t have a enough of one particular brand to really call it a favorite. But I  do have a few favorites for certain categories:

Tarte for blushes

Buxom for lip glosses

IT Cosmetics for SPF/Face Products

8.) What brands and/or items do you most wish were cruelty free?

All of them, there’s no reason for animal cruelty anymore!

But if I had to pick….

I really wish Clinique would go CF. If they would I would be a happy camper. I started using their Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion ($27 – Ulta, Sephora) in January and it has worked wonders for my skin. I used to have dry skin that would get really bad in the winter, but using this lotion has made my skin produce more oils and seems to have balanced everything out. Another brand that I wish would go CF is CeraVe, their hydrating cleanser is incredible for sensitive skin… its basically the only face wash I can use consistently. 

9.) What advice to you have for the temptation to buy non-cruelty free products?

Look up the product, go in store, swatch it, whatever… and then go to a CF brand and look to see if there’s an alternative that is just as good. If there isn’t, then I would suggest thinking of the pros and cons of the product. I understand that sometimes there isn’t always a good option – for example, if you’re like me, someone who has finicky skin, sometimes you just need to go with what works until you find a better alternative – and when that happens, and you’ve tried your best, sometimes that product gets purchased. But 99% of the time, I find, there is a better – CF – option. 

10.) What do you do with your non-cruelty free products? Declutter? Use up?

Personally, I am working on using up my non CF makeup. I know some people just want to start fresh and purge that makeup from their collections, and I thought about it… but I spent hard earned money on it and while it was tested on animals, it seems wasteful to throw it out. But if I am trying to use it up and I really don’t like it, I’ll be giving it away, and as with CF makeup, there’s no use keeping it if it doesn’t work for you. 

11.) Do you think animal testing will end one day?

I’m hopeful that maybe one day it will end. 

I somewhat already answered this in a previous question, and I don’t want to repeat myself too much! But yes, I have hope that one day companies will come to their senses and stop the cruelty. 

I hope you enjoyed my lengthly answers to this tag!

What are some of your opinions on CF beauty products?

Until next time!

~Chic & Classy Fashion

