Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi Everyone!

I put myself on a no buy close to the beginning of January 2017. If you don’t know what a no buy is, it’s essentially a challenge (somewhat like a project pan) where you do not purchase any new makeup (or really whatever) products for a set period of time.

My no buy is for the first six months of 2017 which an exception of my Spring Break, because let’s face it… I’ll be going shopping at least once and I will definitely go to Sephora! 🙂

Any way, I wanted to update you on how my second month went! I hope you enjoy and let’s get started!

This month I only purchased two items: the L’Oreal Pro Glow foundation ($13 – Ulta)  – this was prior to going CF – and the Soap & Glory “Kick Ass Pastel Concealer” in Lavender ($9 – Target). Needless to say, I am pretty dang proud of myself, I don’t think I’ve bought so little makeup during a month in years. Geez, that sounded really pathetic… oh well. 🙂

As for temptations this month I had so many! Like, holy cow! I found myself online “shopping” at Sephora filling up my cart with all kinds of goodies. But I did not buy anything! I’m only going to mention a few or else we’d be here for hours!

The most tempting product had to be (and still kind of is…) the new Stila “Magnificent Metals Glitter & Glow Liquid Eye Shadows” ($24 – Ulta, Sephora). I saw Jaclyn Hill swatch them in a haul, and then I saw Tati’s review on them. It was so freaking hard to tell myself no. They were all so pretty and I was telling myself “yeah you would wear those” , “kitten in any form is stunning, its always good to have on hand”, and my favorite “just get one, try them out and if you love them, the VIB sale is coming up.” I argued with myself for a few days over what to do. But the thing that I kept coming back to was the VIB sale argument… which caused a little red flag to pop up in my head. To me, it’s kind of like someone telling you “everyone’s wearing/loving/etc that color/style/etc.” I realized that I was trying to sell myself something that I didn’t need. Long story short: I didn’t buy them. I decided that if I still want them come break time I could go in and swatch them and then decide whether or not I truly “need” it.

Also the single of Stila’s “kitten” ($18 – Ulta, Sephora) was extremely tempting. And I would have bought it had I not remembered how soft and breakable the shadow is. I didn’t want to risk it breaking in transport. This shadow is something that I love, it is just perfection and now that Stila is back to being CF I can pick it up during break!

 

As for the other temptations, they were all palettes, the smaller Viseart palettes (not the crazy expensive $80 ones, just the totally reasonably priced $45 and $30 small ones…), and the Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons palette ($49 – Ulta, Sephora). But I realized that I just didn’t need any more palettes. As much as a I would love to buy one, I just don’t need it. :/

Other than those temptations I think I did pretty well this month. I think that March will be a good month for my no buy as well. Except the last week of March is break, and well I will have a few new goodies, nothing excessive though, I am restricting myself to only picking up things I know I can use up!

I hope you enjoyed this post! And if you’re doing a no buy or just finished one, how’d it go?

Until next time!

~Chic & Classy Fashion

