Tags

,

Hi Everyone!

All this year I have been putting myself on a “no buy” and failing every stinking time. I think labeling what I’m doing is having a negative effect on me. Every time I tell myself that I am not allowed to buy or even really look at makeup I want to run out and buy the first thing I see.

It kinda feels like the same impulse to touch a wall with a “wet paint” sign to see if its still wet.

I think from now on I am not going to label what I’m doing, or track it the way I was. Instead I am just going to be reasonable. Most of the time I can walk around the makeup section at Target or Walmart and think “nah, I have a lot of stuff like this,” but every now and then I feel the urge to purchase something… and that’s ok.

It’s when I go on benders where I impulse buy upwards of $75 worth of makeup in a day that makes me feel like I have a problem.

One good thing that came out of my failed “no buy” experiment was the knowledge I gained through panning makeup.

After a while I began to realize that there aren’tΒ a whole lot of truly unique products out there that I just have to have. I tend to buy a lot of neutral eye palettes because I like the way they look, but after a while of buying every over hyped palette I could afford, I figured out that all the shadows were just different shades of brown, gold, purple, and pink.

The same goes for bronzers/contours… I bought a ton of them in the last year, but early on in 2016 I realized… they’re all more or less the same darn thing. After all I can only use certain tones and shades on my skin, but here I am with eight bronzers/contours.

Oh geez, I’mΒ rambling…

My point is that I have found that instead of forcing myself to ignore makeup stores or aisles – which, in hindsight, was never plasuible I love makeup too much to do that – I can look as much as Β I want or buy what I like as long as I remind myself of what I already have.

That’s all I have for now!

Until next time!

~Chic & Classy Fashion

