Tags

, , ,

Hi Everyone!

Welcome to another #MakeupTipThursday! Today: what’s the difference between under eye concealer and blemish concealer… and why they are NOT the same.

So again, this a mistake that I’ve made up until very recently (like mid June recently). I used a blemish concealer for my under eye and it made things super difficult!

I hope you enjoy it and lets get started!

I used to use the NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage concealer that comes in a little pot that you can find in most drugstores, to conceal my under eye… a big no no.

Reason being that the concealer that comes in a pot (typically, at least in my experience) is thicker and creases way faster. So I would set it with a lot of powder thinking it would help… no… it made it worse… like cake face worse… kind of like this:

Not to bash Kim K. but if you look closely, you'll see powder caking up around the fine lines of her face. Photo from: themotherplucker

Not to bash Kim K. but if you look closely, you’ll see powder caking up around the fine lines of her face. Photo from: themotherplucker

The thicker in consistency the concealer is, the more likely it is to settle into fine lines… no matter what you do.

However, thicker concealers are fantastic for covering up zits and other blemishes on everywhere but your under eyes. I find that if the consistency is a little more substantial than liquid ones, it covers more and requires less product… just make sure to set it with a little powder.

For under eye concealer you want to stick with a light weight, medium to full coverage liquid concealer. Products like the Urban Decay Weightless Concealer or the Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Concealer (or the Fit Me one, if you prefer that formula). Products like these have a tendency to crease less and blend into the skin easier. They also make your under eye look brighter, thus making you look more awake and not like a zombie. I find that when you use a thick concealer under your eyes it drags the face down and doesn’t give it the lift you typically want from concealer.

I hope you enjoyed this post or at least found it helpful!

If you’ve tried any concealers that you think are the bees knees let me know and I’ll try to test them out!

Until next time!

~Chic and Classy Fashion

