Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I thought I’d do a “holy grail” post to let you all know about the things that I’ve found work better than any other products I’ve ever used.

These are products that I’ve found work for me and might not work for you… hopefully that is not the case.

I’m going to do four categories:

  • Primers
  • Eyes
  • Face
  • Contour/Highlight

Primers

Benefits’ “The Porefessional” primer is my absolute favorite primer! It says it “minimizes the appearance of pores” and they do not lie!  I have dry to normal skin with larger pores around my nose and this stuff blurs them out like nobody’s business! I shower at night so in the morning when I’m getting ready this stuff is great for mattifying my skin and gives me a smooth fresh surface to work with.

This next product isn’t exactly a primer or a foundation or a BB Cream. It’s the Clinique “City Block Sheer: Broad Spectrum 25 SPF.” Since my foundation (also Clinique but I’ll get to that in a bit) doesn’t have any SPF in it I put this on before applying foundation. Since it is basically a tinted sunscreen I let this sink into my skin and do my eyes in the mean time. This product is a holy grail for me because I am extremely fair and any prolonged exposure to the sun hurts my skin and causes it to flare up… but with this product I can put a little on and go about my day.

It also works wonders as a super light foundation(ish) product. If I want a more natural look I put this on, a little mascara, a little powder, a little bronzer, and bam! A natural look without a ton of work that lasts all day!

Eyes

I always do my eyes after I prime because if I mess up horrendously I don’t have to take off and reapply my foundation.

I have two mascaras that I adore and come back to time and time again! They are both drugstore products.

First up the L’Oreal “Voluminous” waterproof mascara in black. I think I bought this mascara when it was on sale at Target a few months back and it was probably the best $5 I have ever spent. With one coat it lengthens your lashes and gives the eyes a more awake look without looking too u natural. But with two coats it’s like you have falsies on and totally amps up any look! I love using it both ways!

Second, the Maybelline “Lash Discovery” waterproof mascara in very black. This mascara has the tiniest brush I have ever seen and it is PERFECT for getting the outer and inner corners of the lashes as well as making applying mascara to the bottom lashes fool proof!

For eye shadows I have a couple of holy grails…

First up: the Revlon “Illuminance Creme Shadow quad in Not Just Nudes”. I use these creme shadows as a base and a sort of primer for my eyes. But they can be worn on their own for a natural look. They aren’t super pigmented but very build-able and with other shadows worn on top they look stunning!

Next, the Maybelline Eye Studio “Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze”. This is the best eye shadow base I have ever used! On it’s own I find it too sparkly but when you layer other nude shadows on top it gives the look a slight shimmer that isn’t over powering.

I have one palette that is hands down the prettiest most usable palette on the face of the earth, the Tarte “Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Palette”. It comes with twelve beautiful nude colors that are insanely pigmented and creamy. They blend flawlessly and really gives your eyes an airbrushed look. I bought this palette when they were “sold out everywhere” and I had to go to six stores (two Seophoras, a Macy’s, and two Ultas) to find it. At first I thought the price was a bit steep until I got home and swatched them all… I was completely blown away and danced a little jig because I had purchased the last one in the store! I will do a full post on this palette and include swatches there!

Face

Foundations are a super tricky because I am the palest person on the planet, and to make things worse, I have incredibly sensitive skin. Trying to find foundations to match me and not break me out has always been a challenge. My skin is also dry so it makes powder foundations stick to parts of my face. But finally I found the PERFECT match. The Clinique “Superbalanced Makeup” in 27 Alabaster.  This product creates a light to medium coverage that is build-able and bendable. It counteracts any redness or dark spots on my skin (that’s probably why they called it “Superbalanced”). This foundation lasts all day for me if I set it with a powder and does not make my skin oily (I know it sounds weird, but some foundations I’ve tried make my dry skin oily… it is not an attractive look).

My second face product is the NYX “Above & Beyond” full coverage concealer! It comes in a little pot (somewhat similar to the Maybelline color tattoo shadows). It is extremely versatile and can be used as a blemish cover up or it can be used as an under eye concealer! It is super light weight and if you set it with a powder it will not settle into fine lines. I picked it up on a whim at Target and was thoroughly impressed… and what I love the most about this product: it’s $ 4.99 price tag! I have mine in the lightest shade and it is a perfect match for me.

Contour/Highlight

Hands down my favorite contour/highlight is the Ulta Contour Kit! It has 6 powders (4 bronzers, 2 highlighters). Two of the bronzing shades are WAY to dark for me but they make great eye shadows! This kit was $18 and worth every penny. I bought this in December and it came with a nifty little piece of paper with instructions on how to contour (a great tool for beginners like myself). Like the Tarte Palette I am going to do a full post on this product and will have the swatches there.

Let me know what your “Holy Grail” products are in the comments and if you tried any of the ones mentioned, tell me what you think!

Until next time!

~Chic and Classy Fashion

